Teacher of the Year Program

We congratulate Alicia Dallman Shoemaker: 2024 ACTFL National Language Teacher of the Year

The award for The ACTFL National Language Teacher of the Year is intended to elevate the status of our profession at the state, regional, and national levels by creating opportunities for recognizing the most accomplished members of our profession. First and foremost, this process is designed to involve all of our state, regional, and national organizations in promoting our profession. Second, it is intended to create as many media opportunities as possible to increase the visibility of the importance of learning languages and cultures to the general public.

ACTFL Congratulates

Alicia Dallman Shoemaker: ACTFL 2024 Teacher of the Year

Alicia Dallman Shoemaker is the District Department Chair, PLC Leader, and a World Language Educator with Elkhorn Public Schools in Elkhorn, NE. Dallman Shoemaker is the 2023 Central States Languages for All Teacher of the Year and the 2022 Nebraska International Language Association Teacher of the Year.

How to apply:

Phase I: Portfolio Development and Submission

Each state’s foreign language association or other designated state organization is invited to submit to that state’s regional language organization a nomination form and accompanying portfolio for one (1) state-sponsored foreign language teacher of the year candidate. Additional details and scoring rubrics are provided below. Portfolios will be reviewed at the regional level and each regional foreign language organization will submit to ACTFL the portfolio of the winner of its regional Language Teacher of the Year. Each state may submit one (1) candidate. States who participate in more than one (1) regional conference may submit a candidate to only one (1) regional organization. While states and regionals have autonomy to change the selection process, regional candidates must submit all the required documents for the national dossier.


  • Northeast Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (NECTFL)
    Christopher Gwin, Executive Director
  • Southern Conference on Language Teaching (SCOLT)
    Leslie Baldwin, Executive Director (336) 422-6192
  • Central States Conference (Central States)
    Daryl Biallas, Executive Director
  • Pacific Northwest Council for Languages (PNCFL)
    Bridget Yaden, Executive Director (253) 535-8330
  • Southwest Conference on Language Teaching (SWCOLT)
    Jocelyn Raught, Executive Director (405) 613-1481

Phase II: National Finalists

Each regional finalist must attend the ACTFL Annual Convention in order to complete a personal interview with the national selection committee. During this interview, finalists will be asked to discuss pertinent topics, e.g., culture in the classroom, professional involvement, value of language learning, and offer in the form of a mock press conference or mock address to a civic group the first three to five minutes of a ten (10) minute presentation on an issue of current interest in national language policy.

Procedure Guidelines and Portfolio Requirements

Webpage Link 2x
PDF View Procedures

Procedures at Each Level

Document 2x
PDF View Checklist

Document Checklist

Document 2x
PDF View Rubric

Portfolio Selection Criteria Rubric

Document 2x
View Sample Reflection View PDF

Sample of Candidate Reflection on Professional Involvement

Document 2x
PDF View Sample Reflection

Sample of Candidate Reflection on Teaching Video (PDF)

Document 2x
PDF View Sample Reflection

Sample of Candidate Reflection on Samples of Student Work

Document 2x
PDF View Nomination Cover

State/Regional Nomination Cover Page

Teacher of the Year Hall of Fame